oh, hai

23 03 2010

I am just not good at blogging anymore. I used to be pretty OK at it, like five years ago. I had ideas and social commentary and I found ways to make my life seem interesting. Oh, and also frequently posted semi-nudes of myself. Now, my life is decidedly more interesting than it was five years ago, yet I can’t find anything to say about it. Either I’ve lost my creativity or I’ve gotten all hermit-y and (subconsciously?) don’t want to put my life on the interwebz.

Anyway. I am busy working on becoming 100% self-employed because I don’t want die and be known as that girl who really excelled at working in an office. Which, I do excel at it, but whoa, that’s boring. So I’m trying to find a happy balance between Office Worker Bri and a Bri who wants to go to exotic locales to photograph dangerous wildlife. Can’t abandon the kiddos to frolic with lions and a Nikon… Yet.

I’m sure there is honor or nobility in being one of those people who has the same career as an accountant or human resources manager for 30+ years… But that’s not me. And at the risk of hate mail, I often think there is such thing as too much stability. Once people get too comfortable, they get lazy. I want to show my kids that trying new things and taking risks and not being so freaking typical is not a bad thing.

Of course if my kids want to be accountants I’ll have to be cool with that too.

I get a decent amount of shit from people close to me about my long list of possible career options and not wanting to pick just one. I want to be a nurse in an inner-city E.R.! I want to be a NatGeo photographer! I want to be a confectioner! And so on and so forth. Why must I choose one? Why can’t I do them all? I’ve got at least 40 years to try it all.

Unless I get eaten by a lion while sneaking up for a photo.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 03 2010
Matt Wallace

Going to throw this out there: Ninja assassin. Just something to consider. You seem the stealthy death in the night type to me. The pay is great and you can’t beat the fashion.

24 03 2010
bri

Good call. I’ve always wanted to shuriken someone to death and get paid for it.

Leave a Reply

