pick two

25 03 2010

Do you have a bucket list?  Most people do whether they know it or not.  Even if you don’t have it written down somewhere, you probably know there are certain things you want to do before you shuffle off this mortal coil.

I would never share my total list publicly because I’m ashamed at how many times it features Robert Downey, Jr. but many of them are adventurous-type things like SHARK DIVING or RACING ON THE NURBURGRING.  For the record, YES capital letters are required when talking about things that have a higher chance of ending in a gory death.

I don’t want to wait until I’m 68 to start scratching things off my list, and I’m kind of a procrastinator by nature, so I’m going to force myself to do two of my Things this year.  Neither SHARKS nor NURBURGRING is really in the forecast for 2010, so I’ll take baby steps and start with SKYDIVING and LEARN HOW TO RIDE A MOTORCYCLE.

(By the way, if you’re in the Balto-DC-NoVA metro area and want to help me or join me, that would be awesome.  It would be nice to meet cool people in the area who like adventurous things or have tips on how to jump out of a plane correctly.  Or, if you have a motorcycle that a 100-lb. person can handle and you want to teach me how to ride one- and won’t sue me if I lay it down once or twice- then hey, let’s hang out!)

So, what’s on your bucket list?  Why don’t you pick two and resolve to get them done this year?  They don’t have to be big.  If you want to pick your nose, frame the results and sell it as art…  Well, to each his own.  So pick two and tell me about them (and tell me if I can help, because I will if I can!)…

Actions

Information

7 responses

25 03 2010
Corey

1) Design and build a piece of furniture from raw materials.

2) Buy and build a track car.

26 03 2010
bri

1.) can it be a chaise lounge for me?

2.) buy life insurance first.

26 03 2010
jules

Those are two good ones. Man… I have things on my list…
Ok, one is to start my book. I can do that.

Can I get back to you on the other?

26 03 2010
bri

you can do it!

also, maybe your second goal should be to pick a second goal 🙂

26 03 2010
Wendryn

Ooh! Motorcycles are fun. May I suggest a Honda Shadow? I don’t know how tall you are, but that’s the only one on which I could actually reach the ground. And it went “vroom!” very satisfactorily. Heh.

On my list:
1) get a passport
2) Go to Australia

both of which are in the works.

26 03 2010
bri

oh golly. i don’t think i can be BUYING a motorcycle. will see if i can rent a Honda Shadow and buy the supplemental insurance for when i wreck it. i’m average. 5’7″ on a stretchy day.

i’m very jealous that you’re going to australia! that is on my 2011 or 2012 list.

1 04 2010
Kim

Get a legitimate claim to the title “Dr.”. Legitimacy is ill-defined here.

Um… I’m not a big risk taker. I did the motorcycle thing and it didn’t work out too well.

Maybe “set up a really amazing annual party”.

But definitely New Zealand and Sweden are on the list. But I don’t want to get too attached to outcomes!

Leave a Reply

