a playlist for my kids

12 10 2010

This is part of the 30 Days of Truthiness thingy that is going around the interwebz.  I am not doing it in order, because I already feel lame for doing it at all as everyone is right now and readers are probably bored of seeing it but hey, there is nothing going on in my day-to-day life worth writing about, and I figure this is better than a diatribe on my midterms.

(Day 24 ) Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs. 

Dear My Little Noseminers,

I am putting these songs on a cassette tape for you.  You better only listen to them in a Walkman, because you need to appreciate The Way Things Were before music was just uploaded to a chip in your brain or whatever you crazy kids are doing nowadays.  Also, the patience it takes to rewind/fast forward/flip the tape to find your favorite song on a cassette tape fucking builds character.  I’m not saying you have to love these songs like I love these songs.  Maybe you’re totally into Justin Bieber; it’s your prerogative to listen to such things if you totally want to get written out of my will.  Just so we’re clear, though, Bieber drools and these songs rule:

1.)  Jackson 5 – ABC

2.)  The Pretenders – Don’t Get Me Wrong

3.)  Tool – Prison Sex

4.)  Misfits – Some Kinda Hate

5.)  The Police – Every Breath You Take

6.)  Rush – Limelight

7.)  James Brown – Get Up Offa That Thing

8.)  The National – Lucky You

9.)  Nine Inch Nails -Down In It

10.)  Big Punisher – Still Not A Player

11.)  Journey – Wheel In The Sky

12.)  Alexisonfire – This Could Be Anywhere In The World

13.)  Def Leppard – Love Bites

14.)  Don Henley – Boys of Summer

15.)  Muse – Hysteria

16.)  Frank Sinatra – Witchcraft

17.)  Beastie Boys – Intergalactic

18.)  Propagandhi – A Speculative Fiction

19.)  Brand New – The Quiet Things No One Ever Knows

20.)  Guns N’ Roses – Sweet Child O’ Mine

My will shall stipulate that you do a scalding-hot karaoke sesh of any one or ten of these songs as my body is being fed to great whites, so do your momma proud– learn ’em and learn ’em good.

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 10 2010
Holmes

I fully endorse this.

12 10 2010
Tweets that mention a playlist for my kids « sarcasmically -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by James Whitaker, James Whitaker and bri, bri. bri said: I'm not a player I just post a lot– a playlist for my kids | http://bit.ly/aEUG2L […]

Leave a Reply

