the debil’s holiday

14 10 2010

Halloween is quickly approaching.  I mean, I think it is.  I am not entirely sure when exactly Halloween is because I haven’t observed Halloween since I was six.

My dad was in a phase for ummm, ten years or so where Halloween was The Debil’s Holiday.  We were the house at the end of the cul-de-sac that had a sign up on the door.  And it wasn’t even a polite, ambiguous sign that said “No candy here! Move along! Goodnight!”  No, this sign was some serious shit

This was kind of a bummer for us kids, since Halloween ranks right below Christmas on a child’s scale of Awesome Holidays.  Also it’s pretty embarrassing to be that house when all your classmates, including Andy Garcia The Hottest Thing To Ever Hit 5th Grade, are stopping by for a fun-size Snickers bar.

So my last Halloween was one year my maternal grandmother took us out, and I was in first grade.  My younger brothers (twins) and I dressed up as Alvin & The Chipmunks, and if you could see our pre-orthodontics overbites and chubby cheeks, you’d know this was not actually a stretch.  I was Simon, which I feel pretty much secured my fate of being a nerd forever.

Anyway, I don’t remember how or if I celebrated Halloween between 16 and 21 because… well let’s just say LSD kills memories.  But at 21, I had my son and from then on Halloween was all about the kid(s).  You take them out, get them all hopped up on sugar, come home, watch them dart around the room, eyes bloodshot and twitching, until they pass out.  That’s it.  Holiday over.  Once you have kids, Halloween is for the kids.

But this year!  Guys!  I’m 27!  And this year!  I get to go to a real adult Halloween party.  I mean, after I do the candy-begging with my kids, but still.  What do adults do on this pseudo-holiday for kids?  Will it be like Eyes Wide Shut but with less black robes and more superhero costumes?  Will they be putting sex toys in my pillowcase instead of Smarties?

I don’t know, but tomorrow I’m taking my Simon costume to the dry cleaners and then I’m going to call my father to say, “Dad, I’m going to hell.”  As if he didn’t already know that.

Actions

Information

7 responses

14 10 2010
TJ

Oh, man. I actually snorted out loud to this one. You are so going to hell, you heathen. Don’t worry, I’ll keep the door open for you.

14 10 2010
Mist_Witch

If you’re at a party where they’re putting sex toys in pillowcases instead of Smarties please get me invited.

16 10 2010
sarcasmically

or you could skip the bummer of having to attend the party and i’ll just mail you half my “goodie bag” 🙂

14 10 2010
Rahul

People look down upon the whole adult trick or treating thing. That’s why I just wait on the corner with my “Candy Inspector” costume and have kids give me their candy for inspection.

Then I run.

Works like a charm.

PS. You will see at least 50 slutty costumes at that party. Godspeed to you.

16 10 2010
sarcasmically

I am going to avoid the slutty costume thing. I don’t need an excuse to dress like a harlot.

15 10 2010
Raven

Halloween parties are normally just people drinking alcohol with a costume on … or a shirt that has been magic markered with ‘this is my costume’. As opposed to the normal party which is people just standing around drinking alcohol.

Loved the sign. And strange parent stories had me reminiscing (not really).

Have fun at the party. 🙂

16 10 2010
sarcasmically

If you ever need strange parent/family stories, come to me. I’ve got millions. And I don’t mean that in a bad way, my family is amazing.

Leave a Reply

